MBL loses user due to forced account merge
I was browsing with firefox earlier over at MBL and decided to edit my profile. It was at that point the login screen was forced on me asking me to sign up with my Y! ID or if I didn’t have one the option to create one. I didn’t want to do this so I guess that for as long as my IE7 cookie lasts, I’ll be able to browse about and respond to PM’s and all that stuff. I did use the mass message tool to tell people I was offski and that I could be reached, followed, networked or whatever else you want to call it at, Bumpzee, Sphinn, StumbleUpon, Digg, and Blogcatalog so there thats that.
I knew it was coming, but today it happened. It’s no big deal, but I’ve decided not to merge my Y! and MBL identities.
Why? Well, no real reason other than I don’t want to and to be honest MBL had kinda lost its sheen for me. I’m sure that a lot of the people there still love it to bits and get a great deal of use and satisfaction from it and well, good luck to them too, it’s just no longer my bag.
I don’t like having things forced upon me, I like choice and options, I don’t get why they felt the need to make this a mandatory thing.
Call it grumpy, call it what you like.
I’m sure they’ll cope just fine without me! 😉Posted on: 21st September 2007, by : Rob Watts